Change of Keyhelp IP in database ?  [SOLVED]

Discussions about the usage of KeyHelp.
Post Reply
amarc
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu 7. May 2020, 18:56

Change of Keyhelp IP in database ?

Post by amarc »

Hello,

well I have specific scenario where Keyhelp is in VM with some IP. I need to move that VM to different host/location and that IP will change.

Is there a way to do:

- stop current Keyhelp VM
- move VM to another host
- give VM new IP and start it
- go to Keyhelp's DB and change it's IP within DB to new IP


Why I need to do this ? Simply because, as I see it, I can't do it otherwise. I can't change it while running on current host as new IP is not available to that host and I can not start it on new host with old VM/Keyhelp IP for same reason.


ty.
User avatar
Alexander
Keyweb AG
Posts: 3842
Joined: Wed 20. Jan 2016, 02:23

Re: Change of Keyhelp IP in database ?  [SOLVED]

Post by Alexander »

Hello,
go to Keyhelp's DB and change it's IP within DB to new IP
Currently you can go into the database and update the values there. There will be an option in the 'keyhelp-toolbox' in the future, to update IPs there.

You can use this command:

Code: Select all

mysql -D 'keyhelp' -e "UPDATE settings SET value = '111.111.111.111,222.222.222.222' WHERE category = 'dns' and name = 'ips'";
And replace 111.111.111.111 and 222.222.222.222 with your IPs. Do not use more than 2 IPv4 and/or 2 IPv6.
Than go to keyhelp-toolbox and let it rewrite all the config files.


Be advised, that you have to setup your IPs in network configuration of your system. KeyHelps IPs in the database are "only" for writing Apache and Bind configuration files.
Mit freundlichen Grüßen / Best regards
Alexander Mahr

**************************************************************
Keyweb AG - Die Hosting Marke
Neuwerkstr. 45/46, 99084 Erfurt / Germany
http://www.keyweb.de - http://www.keyhelp.de
**************************************************************
amarc
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu 7. May 2020, 18:56

Re: Change of Keyhelp IP in database ?

Post by amarc »

Thanks. Yes, VM will have new IP as that is managed "externally" by DHCP there is no static configs regarding network anywhere.
Post Reply